Sweet Potato Sky

By sweetpotatosky

90%

That's how happy I am with the way the cupcakes turned out today.

The woman who ordered them for her daughter's birthday made only one request - nothing pink and girlie. So I made the chocolate cupcakes themselves and they were perfect. Then I started to make the icing and as I added the colouring gel (tiny bit at a time as per everyones instructions)....well it was pink. And it stayed pink for a very very long time. Panic set in since I really didn't have time to go out and buy more icing sugar to make more but eventually and after an entire pot of colouring (I wouldn't want to be a mother of any kid tomorrow night after having one of these E number laced goodies) it eventually went red. The icing was beautiful and so I started to pipe it. Unfortunately the vast quantities of colouring somewhat offset the balance of the icing and despite piping on great, it went all limp and melted slightly.

Very disappointing. :(

They look okay but because the icing isn't as peaky and pretty as I'd have liked I'm not 100% happy. But fortunately I made some extras (The Rejects) so was able to pick and choose which ones couldn't possibly be sent to a client.

Was a steep learning curve but I learned:
a) never offer a client something you've not got time to try first
b) always make extras
c) its bloody hard to make 36 things that look identical

I enjoyed it all but am glad it's done. ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.