Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Binary 400

I don't know whether blipfoto regards 400 blips as a significant day - possibly not, what with being so close to 365. To me, however, today is a very significant day, and not just because of the 400 blips thing - if you look at my blip for this day last year you will see a very different person from the one I am now.

On February 4th last year I was suicidally depressed, very ill, and totally consumed by grief for a friendship that had, unexpectedly and abruptly, ended, without me knowing why. On top of this, we had run out of heating oil, it was perishingly cold, and I was clinging on to some sort of sanity by a thread. Somehow I managed to get to London, where the Wonderspouse was, and just about survived the evening. Goodness knows how. Furthermore, my illness prompted some very unpleasant people on the internet to accuse me of self-pity, of abusing blipfoto, and to talk to me in extremely patronising terms and essentially tell me to "pull myself together". If those people had made ANY effort to get to know me before they were so nasty, they'd know that I'm NOT the sort of person who sits around feeling sorry for myself - quite the reverse in fact!

On February 4th this year I've had another busy day! I dropped the Wonderspouse at the bus stop (the car DIDN'T squeal, so fingers crossed that it's OK) and went for a brisk walk in the extremely windy conditions. I then went to our local department store and managed to find a black suit, size 22, which just fits and cost only £25! Hurrah! I also bought a small book about woodwork!

Then home. I failed to raise the headteacher of the school I'm going to interview at next week, so have decided to e-mail after the weekend, which will also give me time to think of more questions. I did, however, call the TDA, who asked me to e-mail them, so I wrote a detailed e-mail and now await a response - all hope of the Return to Teaching course is not yet gone, and I shall certainly pursue it with some vigour!

Then a salad lunch, a bit of Cat Physics (see blip for February 1st), more admin work, browsing the TES jobs site once more to see that there are more jobs available, and now practice and some maths before collecting the Wonderspouse!

Who'd have thought it a year ago. It's been a year of jolly hard work, but so worth it. Life continues to change quickly as I start afresh with a better life than before! There will be more hurdles to come, and lots more hard work, so I say: bring it on world - I'm ready for you this year!

If you fancy playing around with binary code, this is one of the translators I use when I'm in that sort of mood! Oh, and yes, I did colour in the zeros - something I love to do!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.