Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Sunny Church

No reason for taking a picture of this particular church, except that I happened to be walking past it and it looked rather lovely in the early afternoon sunshine!

Been a busy day today - bus stop run around 7 this morning (with considerable de-icing of the car required), home for maths, viola practice and some housework, then to the garage to (I hope) get the squealing of the car fanbelt fixed (again) (I was nearly late for the garage owing to Smudge doing a disappearing act outside, having no petrol, and being stuck behind someone driving at 35 in a 50 zone), going for brisk walk while the car was being seen to (that's when I took this picture), then to Scharwenka's - a walk with him, plus tea and home-made bread, then to woodwork class, then shopping with the Wonderspouse. Now, 10.39 pm, I'm typing this while the Wonderspouse cooks supper! Then it will be bathtime and finally, bedtime!

Other news:

1. I am, apparently, not acceptable for a "Returning to Teach" course since my original PGCE was in music, not maths. In between taking cars, walking, going to woodwork etc, I was in communication with the University of Worcester, to whom I have applied (and who insisted on calling my mobile phone despite my telling them we have no reception at home - so I have to conduct all my business in the street)! They say the TDA will not fund the course for me. I feel a "very assertive" phone call to the TDA coming on. Failing that, maybe I'll write to my MP, who just happens to be the Prime Minister! ;-)

Or maybe, as is the way with these things, I'll just have to go it alone, fund it myself by temping in an office or some such.

2. I have an interview at a school to whom I have applied for the position of maths teacher - next week! I have to teach a maths lesson, on "metric conversions" - I know not what year group, how long, whether they expect a lesson plan, what equipment/facilities I shall have, and I'm currently 4 stone heavier than when I last wore "decent" clothes. I feel an "enquiring" phone call to the school and a shopping trip for the cheapest suit I can find in a size "totally massive" coming on!

Life moves jolly fast sometimes!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.