must try harder

By halfcj

You can close your eyes, it's alright

.........

Things were better when I woke this morning. I had an early call from B. She was on her way home after the 'School friends re-union'. Couldn't wait to get home and tell me all the 'Goss'! That made me happy, but for reasons I need to explain:

The conversation we had was brief. However, I knew that it made her happy that I understood her 'coded' message. I got what she was saying without her saying anything, and knew it made her both happy and excited, that she knew, that I got what she was saying, even in code, and that the people she was about to tell me about would definitely not get what she was about to tell me. They would not get why she found what she was saying to be unbelievable, incomprehensible and amusing all at the same time. But I would. Synchronicity. Did I explain that well??

Sure enough, when she got home and let it all out, content passed over my head, because I am completely disinterested in the lives she illustrated. But I derived immense pleasure from 'understanding' why it infuriated her and alienated her. I suppose, analysing, 'getting her' is why it works. Matters nought what I think. They are her friends not mine. What matters to her is I see her view. What matters to me is that I don't get them, I get her. I also get that makes her happy. Probably explained that really badly.

So after her call, I came downstairs, made myself breakfast, thinking the boys were tucked up in their beds. As i'm eating my sausage and egg on granary toast (sooooo tasty), I hear the TV in the boys den, quiet as it was. There, snuggled up on the sofa...my baby boy. An angel...catching up on his beauty sleep. I captured the moment and returned to my breakfast, which was slightly colder, but comfortably worth it.

I sipped my 'Italian strength' coffee and waited for B's return. Content.
She would be talking. I would be listening.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.