Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Ornamental Ball

The sun shone today and I was deterimined to get out with the camera. I had a shot in mind before I set out but when I got to the location, it became apparent it needed a dull day to work. How perverse.

The parade of shops on Stockton Street afforded a few opportunities. A gay hairdresser was absolutely thrilled that I was photographing his balloons. Perhaps I should rephrase that. The balloons that were decorating the outside of his salon.

Shooting a bicycle outside the bike shop had its owner trying to sell me the bike. It was a good deal -- $125. Apparently someone had just brought it in to sell. I asked where the brakes were -- I could see no cables or brake handles. I was told that the brake was operated by pedalling backwards. That would never do for me.

In the end, it was the last shot of my walk that found favour with the editorial board. Resorting to the high contrast B&W mode, gee I have never used that before :-) resulted in what I think is an interesting shot. The mock Tudor style lends a touch of eeriness.

It was great to see blue sky and the sun again after five days of a slate grey sky and of course yesterday's constant rain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.