Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Rainy Day

Not a good start to the week. First, I learned about the death of guitarist Gary Moore at the age of 58. Second, befitting that news the sky has cried all day long. Third, the central air unit went out.

I was never a fan of Thin Lizzy but when Moore released Still Got The Blues in 1990 and I saw a promo video featuring him and the great Albert Collins, he became a firm feature in my playlist.

I video taped footage of Moore with Jack Bruce and Ginger Baker playing at a rock festival in England in 1994. The TV clip featured the song City of Gold and I transferred the soundtrack to an audio tape so I could listen to it the car. I have the tape somewhere in one cardboard box or another.

This afternoon, I thought I would check out iTunes. The track is available in the UK but not the USA and I cannot access the UK iTunes shop. I have a feeling they have changed the rules because I feel sure I have bought stuff from iTunes UK in the past. So much for the global economy.

I managed to get someone out to fix the central air unit, amazingly within one hour of the initial call. Full marks to Tropic Aire. Then serendipity struck. While reading the Arts section of Friday's newspaper, I discovered that Jeff Beck is due to play the Florida Theatre on May 4. If you recall, my wife has a friend who works for the theatre. My wife got in touch and we now have two complimentary tickets for the show. Roll on May 4.

The Super Bowl went well. During the third quarter I began to feel the game was slipping away from the Packers but they rallied and sealed an impressive victory in an exciting game.

Today's picture sums up the Sunshine State and the awful weather we have been having of late. I know, I know, I should consider myself lucky compared to what some folk in America have had to contend with in recent weeks. But I wouldn't be human if I didn't complain about the weather. :-)

B&W conversion with Silver Efex Pro in Photoshop CS3.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.