Joe's Blips

By joesblips

Pumping Engine

To celebrate the fact that my old LG Phone has recovered fron its recent traumas I decided to use the camera in it to shoot today's blip. About 10km from my front door are the old mine workings in and around the village of Avoca. The village was the setting for the TV series "Ballykissangel" a few years back although the indoor scenes were shot at Ardmore Studios in Bray.

This chimney is one of several dotted around the area and is basically the smoke stack for a steam engine which was used to pump water out of the workings. I understand that it was a Williams Engine and the technology came from Cornwall in the UK. Despite the murky grey misty weather I was more that happy with the result especially after applying one of my collection of textures and giving it an old sepia look.

ps. The dark shape on the right is the actual Engine House which housed the machinery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.