secret garden

By freespiral

Sacred Sites: Mass Rock

Not too hard a morning work wise followed by a sort of working lunch with the wwoof Ireland team and Carl from wwoof Independents. Some countries don't have their own wwoof (word wide workers on organic farms) organisation, such as Greece, Romania or Fiji (!!!) and Carl runs everything from a wooden house in the Pyrenees.

Did a little detour on my way home to visit the Lady's Well and Mass Rock. Boy, this was a labour of love - first I was pursued by a not very friendly sheep dog, then I had to climb over a stile and negotiate a field of large and curious cattle, then I found myself in very boggy ground in my best (not any more ) boots which were of course not waterproof! Still, it was worth  it for this is a magical spot and worthy of many blips. I guess the place originated as a holy well and then, when Catholicism was banned by the English :( a rock was used as a penal altar and a priest would hold secret mass here. The penalty for doing this was very severe and there is a story associated with this site that a priest was holding mass when some soldiers appeared and Our Lady surrounded the priest and worshippers with  her cloak ie a blue mist! The rock is now scattered with old and rather battered statues of Our Lady, most of them headless. I loved this central statue for it has such grace, and still retains a tiny bit of blue on her cloak. At her feet is the Infant of Prague, who I'm a bit confused about, and a little delicate pill box. Mass  is occasionally still held here and people visit to do the round son Mary's special day, 15th August.

Behind the rock is a steep bit of mountain and at the top is a rather garish statue put up in the Marian year of 1952, but dotted throughout the grass are little figurines. The holy well is right next to the rock and and a plastic cup offers a facility for those who feel like drinking the water. It looked clear but a bit gnatty. There are quite a few records of the healing property of the well but I might save that for tomorrow!

We're now off to an early screening of 127 Hours about the climber who got stuck and had to saw off his arm!! I'm taking my scarf for emergency eye covering, but apparently ti is a very uplifting film and only gruesome for a few minutes. I will report back!

Edit: the one star beast is really having  a go at me this week - I think every blip for the last 5 or so days has been targetted !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.