Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

Etching!

I'm not sure that this kind of etching is going to be my thing but I learnt a lot about the process yesterday and was really glad that I went to the session.

I'd expected to need a line drawing rather than a tonal one, so in the end I spent some time working up the tonal shades of this image as a drawing. It's a tracing really, and doesn't have enough of me in it, but it's been a good way of learning. I've only taken one print so far (not shown here) which has some rather lovely subtle imaging on the figure on the right, which I'm in danger of losing in the next dip in the acid if I stick with the drawing I've added to the copper plate. I'll probably clean this off and start again. Not sure when this will be though as Neil only sets up these workshop sessions on an intermittent time scale.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.