You Beauty!

No, my jackpot winnings haven't come in. It would seem my hopes were raised on what may turn out to be a scam. Who'd've thought? Still, I may follow up on the Nigerian Oil tycoon who commented that they were looking for some assistance in shifting some funds; there may be some money coming our way yet.

The lack of a big fat cheque arriving meant I had to finish the decorating myself. Two days, bish-bash-bosh. Done.

Only got out briefly late on to escape from the paint fumes (what is they put in there that makes the modern stuff smell so horrible?) and snapped only a couple of shots due to the relentless moisture permeating the air. I've passed this shop for 40 odd years and in that time it's been everything from a sweetie shop, a CB radio shop, a video shop, a hairdressers, a bespoke jewellery workshop and, most recently a shop that sells beauty. Obviously in these recessionary times they can't be selling much, not to the locals as far as I can see anyhow (Ouch. Cheap shot, purely for comic effect obviously. I'm sure a 'Miss Scotland' came from round here in the not too distant past and I regularly see some bonnie lassies in the bakers and the offy just around the corner from here).

What caught my eye most though, apart from the obvious appeal of the boutique itself, was the state of the road outside. It's not on a main street but it's looking worse the wear for a couple of winter's worth of pothole harvesting. According to Transport Scotland a third of Scotland's Roads are gubbed. I'd have put it higher.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.