Shadows on the Mountains

The deep shadows on the mountains this morning revealed shapes on the ridges I don't normally notice. The last shred of snow on the Rubicon Peak has vanished. I can't get a good shot of it early in the morning because of its angle to the sun. It reflects so much light that no matter how I try to compensate it looks washed out and featureless. Later in the morning when the light has changed the heat haze covers the detail. But the Back and Otarama Peaks were looking pretty good.

I'm blipping the mountains today because it may be the last time for several weeks. I'm experiencing the blipper's nightmare of camera trouble. It keeps shutting down with a lens error message. I gasped when I was told how much Canon charge for just looking at it. The guarantee has run out.

So, it will be back to ye olde compact. It is very limited in what it can do. That will be a challenge. Mountains without snow it is not good at. I've just been reviewing the manual settings. Aperture and shutter speed are not among them.


Quite good in large.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.