Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

The Floating Heads, Kelvingrove, Glasgow

It is not often I get the chance to visit Kelvingrove mid week, and so much more enjoyable when there are less people around.

Unlike the Edinburgh Galleries, you can take photographs here, and I decided it was time to put my 50mm f/1.4 lens to the test. I know these Heads have been blipped loads of times before, they aren't even my favourite exhibit, but I felt my 1.4 test would work well here.

I couldn't find an information board, so this is what one of the custodians told me. They were created by Sophie Cave for the reopening of the Galleries after the refurbishment in 2007. Made of fibreglass, there are 96 heads with four different expressions, hanging from the ceiling of the East Wing.

More information on this entry here.

And my favourite exhibit in Kelvingrove ... I promise to Blip that next time I visit?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.