Great Expectations...

Have you ever bought an album sight unseen?

Either just liked the look of the cover or heard a someone else talk about them and entice you to purchase, pre-listen.

I've had a pretty good track record on this. Some highlights include Music for the Mature B-Boy by DJ Format and The Warning by Hot Chip.

DJ Format was just because I like the name of the album and the front cover whilst browsing the FOPP shelves. Hot Chip was absolutely based on their Mercury Music Prize nomination (would say win, but not sure if they did win it). I tend to look up at least 1 of the albums mentioned for the Mercury Music Prize each year now.

Anyway, I was listening to Nirvana Unplugged the other day and really liked the song writing of the guest appearances on it, The Meat Puppets. I always meant to investigate furthar since I first heard the concert. Yesterday was me finally managing to get round to more than 10 years later!!!!

What a load of guff! Jeezo, this is one of the occasions where the cover version is better than the original. The Nirvana version was really good and I think was enhanced with the fact that Kurt Cobain could sing. The Meat Puppets cannot sing.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.