Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Hair Clip

Today has been about problem solving. Some problems are easily solved, others less easily, and other still even less easily.

1. I am allowing my hair to grow and have stopped having it almost shaved off every so often. There are distinct advantages as far as having a warmer neck and ears are concerned, but the front bit is really dangling in my eyes now - that problem is easily solved with the above hair clip, photographed on top of the sparkly bag in which I keep my camera.

2. The house is a TIP! I have been too busy and the Wonderspouse has been too poorly so no housework has been done here for around a fortnight. A solution to this problem is now underway - I did a whole washing machine load of socks today, and the dulcet tones of the hoover have once again been heard in these parts.

3. My admin is in a state. Again, the solution is underway. Desk work, desk work, and more desk work!

4. The problem of what to do with my blipfoto account once I go back into teaching. I believe I have come up with a solution to this one that will work OK. It will require a bit of work by me (I'm getting used to this sort of problem solving - most things require work), and a bit of inconvenience for anyone who wishes to look back on some of last year's commentaries, but I think it'll work AND allow me to keep this journal going. I'll let you know when I've finalised it and run it past my head of security (yes, I do have a head of security!!!!)

5. This is the trickiest one. We've been back to the vet with Smudge this afternoon to discuss options for her hyperthyroidism treatment. 2 lots of pills now result in very unpleasant side effects (for her as she has to suffer them and for us as we have to clean up the resulting mess). The vet can feel no noticeable swelling of the thyroid, so it's unclear as yet whether surgery will be an option. So, we're back on the first lot of pills for just a couple of weeks to get her levels & heart rate down, then it will be sedation, blood tests for kidney & liver function, further exploration of thyroid glands (cats have 2), and surgery if it seems possible. If surgery is not possible then I think we will be looking at treating the heart rate & giving her the best life possible but accepting that it may not be a very long one. The only other alternative is a 6 week course of radiotherapy (which may or may not be effective) in a unit away from home. We would not be allowed to see her while she's away as she'd be radioactive, and it would cost an absolute fortune, so it probably isn't feasible.

As usual the vet surgery was full of cuteness, but also of sadness - a dad & 2 boys brought in their dog that had been hit by a bus. We later found out it was dead on arrival. Think that household will be a very unhappy one this weekend.

In amid the problem solving I did manage to do some viola practice and have a snooze on the sofa with Dexter, but it has turned out to be an unexpectedly busy day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.