Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Bars in the Window

"Crazy. Over the rainbow I am crazy.
Bars in the window.

There must have been a door there in the wall.
When I came in."


- Roger Waters (The Trial, from Pink Floyd's The Wall)

We took a trip up to Medlow Bath today, and after a lovely lunch at Whisk and Pin we wandered around trying to find some of the view over the bush/Mountains that seems completely taken and blocked by the Hydro Majestic, an old hotel currently undergoing renovations and scheduled to re-open in 2012. There's an empty section that gives a nice view, even from the road, and I thought that would be my blip. Then we went a bit further and came to the Hydro Majestic. I saw an old stone wall at the back of the grounds, which looked really cool against the sky, and I thought that would be my blip. But then, my eye was caught by this wall and its barred window, with the branch/leaves hanging over in the foreground.

I desaturated it a little, as in the photo the leaves appeared rather more green and distracting than they really looked (or seemed, at any rate; perhaps this represents my constructed perception and memory rather than the reality of it - if there is such a thing as objective reality). I also cropped it to get rid of some of the untidy grass and weeds at the bottom - but realised that I had actually composed it better at the time of the shot, and any cropping just took away from it - which did please me.

This was the shot today I thought about most at the time, and it was the one that immediately stood out to Mrs tsuken as well. So I'm actually rather pleased with it. 8)

Other shots from today

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.