Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Not a Sprig of Grass

"There is not a sprig of grass that shoots uninteresting to me."

- Thomas Jefferson

I did a mammoth lawn-mowing exercise today. While at it, I noticed this mantis and raced inside for the camera. It seems to have one wonky eye. There were a few others around, all with two bright green eyes.

Mantis also happens to be one of my favourite comic book characters. I was always disappointed that the writers of the Silver Surfer always had him pining over Shalla Bal even though she was so annoying and pathetic, and Mantis was a much better fit for him. They actually did have a brief fling, and I was gutted when she died, but they had him return to pining over Shalla. Of course. :-p

This shot is exactly as taken, which pleases me. I was unable to improve it by cropping, sharpening ... whatever. I take that as a good thing 8)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.