Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

Trees & River

Went to my photographic printers this morning. As part of raising my profile, I am donating a signed print to a silent auction. So some lucky punter is going to get the equivalent of an early Picasso. In your dreams, Calvin. In your dreams. :-)

I also ordered some business cards, which are in fact a photograph reduced to a 3.5 x 2 inches print. If you have visited Tea With Calvin you will already be familiar with the photo and design.

This morning I was also pleasantly surprised to find a comment from photographer Ian Bramham on my web site. Ian is an immensely talented landscape photographer who lives in the same area of Northwest England I used to live in. To receive unsolicited praise from him was praise indeed.

On the way back home, I walked along one of only two stretches of road in Riverside that front directly on to the St Johns River. River Boulevard runs for all of 400 yards but it is pleasant to be able to look directly on the vast expanse of the St Johns River.

These three trees silhouetted against the sky and water caught my eye instantly. I think it was the fact there were three and also the sinuous curve of the trunk of the middle one.

The news from the UK is still the same. It is just a question of waiting. I spent three hours yesterday evening writing a letter, and I mean by hand. It was a difficult one to write. It may well be the last one I ever write but at the same time I had to try and disguise the finality of it all. I hope I hit the right balance and that it provides some solace.

B&W conversion with Silver Efex Pro in Photoshop CS3

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.