must try harder

By halfcj

In with the new.....

Is it Spring again?

After yesterday's blip (thank you everyone for kind thoughts and sorry if I have not responded individually - I kinda logged off, or was it nodded off?), I needed to do a bit of a nothing blip. So I thought it fitting to show new life today to counter balance yesterday, not only for the blip in truth, but for sanity.

I set out to do some testing with my 50mm. Some brain dead shots to see how far I could push the lens hand held, no flash, low light. Answer as you can see is "not very far fella!!" I actually shot well over a hundred frames and only a few even resembled photographs. Maybe I just pushed too far? :(

It all helps in that learning process though, to find out how this particular lens performs under pressure, all adding to the experience you gain on what you can and cannot do. Whilst the newly formed buds in this shot are a long way from the crisp image I was hoping to achieve, to put it in persective, they are about the size of your smallest fingernail, so actually it isn't that bad. Not that I want to do 'Macro' stuff, more a question of understanding the lens limits.

At least the buds being out is a potential sign of Spring just around the corner. In a matter of a few weeks, the garden will start to bloom, and then as soon as they have, so the petals will start to drop over a period of months and once again attach themselves to the garden paths within a day or so, using their own rotting secretions as adhesive, creating the perfect skid pad to send me flying yet again. It works every time and no matter how often you rake them, 10 seconds later, they start to re-populate. One of my worst jobs...keeping the leaf/petal situation under control. OK not exactly frontline warfare, I'm a peace loving man, but those of you familiar with Blott and obsessive behaviour, will appreciate the frenzy such things incite.

Still, open the door, invite them in and send Winter packing out the back!

One final thing. I have noticed from my 'Miscellaneous' that my Australia statistic is now gone.(although I guess it may come back now?? - because as you might remember, my daughter is in Australia doing the 'I'm working in Australia' thing this month - 3 times, that ought to do it)...I digress, so it has now been replaced by the statistic that I mention love 116% more than the average blipper!!

What does that say about me!? Love Love Love, All you need is Love, Love lifts us up where we belong. OK that should get the stat up!

Love to all!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.