Dave's Views

By davethespoon

Last Light on Gyllyngvase Beach

The deluge was delayed by a few hours and Robin and I managed an early start for 18 holes at Falmouth Golf Club. It was most enjoyable and closely fought contest which I'm please to say I won thanks to a couple of nice putts for birdies on 12 & 13 let me get my nose in front and an up and down from the bunker for par on 15 in the worst of the weather was too much for Rob as the slippery surface and wet grips put pay to his power game.

Then the rain really came down and we collected Isabelle after morning lectures and all went into Falmouth Town and deciding we didn't have time to do the Maritime Museum justice we scurried about town under umbrellas visiting cafes and shops. Quite suddenly the rain stopped and as the sky cleared a brilliant rainbow appeared across the harbour. Unfortunately I didn't see this, nor did I have a camera as the rain had been so heavy I'd decided not to risk drowning it.

After that the sun shone with a dazzling brightness for a while before sunset and I spent a happy hour at Swanpool and on Gylly beach dodging the incoming tide to get misty water shots. I like this one the best.

I cooked a meal for the allegedly starving students and then they took Robin out for cocktails and left us in peace to snooze in front of the telly until bedtime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.