Chinese Lantern

Today I looked outside. Sky grey, rain and even snow, well it was a sorry sight. But under the appletree was a delicate orange color. And yes, despite the early winter, the snow, the frost, just two inches above the ground: the rest of a plant we call 'Lampionplant' but also known as Chinese Lantern. I choose this fragment of art of mother nature for today's blip.

Looking for a correct translation in English I learned that the chinese lantern plant is also called the 'winter cherry' or 'bladder cherry' and, get this, a member of the potato family. I didn't know! And that while we Dutch people are famous for our (yes frugality, yes I know ...) eating of potatoes!

Oh, and for everyone who cares, the scientific name is Physalis alkekengi.

Well, it made my day; in some way, so to say :)


Btw: large is great!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.