WorldLens

By worldlens

Grilled Bananas

While visiting a friend, she taught me how to make grilled bananas. On the streets, I've seen the small Thai bananas being grilled on skewers or fried in batter without their peels, but grilled with their peel on was a first for me.

I asked how long they needed to cook and Mai responded, "I don't know." We both laughed. We kept an eye on them and kept rotating them occasionally until sticky banana juice started bubbling out of the slits Mai cut into the fruit.

Mai took one to check with her grandma, but they weren't done yet, so we left them on the grill for about another 10 minutes. After they cooled a bit, we split the peel open and ate them with a spoon. They didn't look super appetizing but tasted delicious.

Are you jealous?
You should be. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.