where it had to be, and when

Whilst it's windier today than it was yesterday I don't recall my normal wheel being grabbed quite as strongly by the wind. I switched the tyre back to the normal one as the grippier one was noticeably less easy-rolling, though I'll need to switch the tubes over too as this one was a bit thinner and doesn't quite exhibit the correct solidity when at the maximal pressure.

Still didn't get round to popping out at lunchtime, though did go for a walk. Required errands tomorrow might mean I have to in order to be able to get everything done during the shortish lunchtime available if I don't get into the office any earlier than I have been doing so far this week. Snoozing an alarm is far too easy but I generally leave my phone on to charge overnight and the plug is at the head of the bed so sticking the alarm-device on the other side of the room to encourage getting-up in order to switch it off is less easy.

The wind meant I didn't go where I was originally going to go this evening and ended up here instead. As the route I used to take every day back to the city centre is due to receive some upgrading I went back along it to see what it's currently like to be able to see what changes if the proposed changes ever go ahead. The only real difference at the moment compared to the olden days is the layout of the junction at the end of West Mains Road which was altered some time ago (but too late for it to have been of use to me) and makes it possibly slightly easier for cyclists, though probably not easy enough. Whilst there's less traffic late at night there are also more badly-parked cars and more people poking their noses too far out of perpendicular roads to see past them. The hill back up to Newington from Mayfield seems much less uphill than it used to seem but the quality of the road surface seems much worse, particularly crossing between Salisbury Road/Grange Loan and towards the junction with West Preston Street whilst the formerly extremely shitty road surface of the upper bit of Causewayside was replaced a while back. There's the odd advanced stop line too, which will hopefully be reinforced, repainted and multiplied very soon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.