Strange the things you notice

Over the past five days I have seen more baked beans than I've seen in my whole life.

Today, I spotted a rogue can of Heinz baked beans amongst the Watties BeaNZ. Somehow it felt comforting to see the familiar green can amongst the brighter Watties ones.

I started at a reasonable hour this morning, 9 am. I was drafted to man phones and the gmail account.

I responded to peoples' offers of help, trying to get a personal comment out to all offers of help, money and resources. Funny to get emails from people I knew too.

I felt a little frazzled when JL turned up with a Mochaccino for me. She persuaded me that I could easily leave for a couple of hours and we spent the time walking on the beach with the dogs.

It was great to feel the wind and have some normality for a while. We popped into Pegasus Village for an ice cream on our way back.

I got home just after 9 pm. Job well done.

This thing has grown so much over the past five days and it's just been amazing what everyone has achieved. I'm just a small cog in that wheel but it's been wonderful to be a part of it.

I'll head in a little later tomorrow and do what is needed. If I'm needed, that is, of course. If not, I guess I'll take Cousteau for a decent walk.

He deserves it.

Off to bed in a mo. Rae's dad, who is high up in NZ Telecom, has come down for work and is going to be sleeping in a camper van outside my house tonight. We're just having a glass of red wine and a chat before bed.

I can't believe what a roller coaster this week has been.

I just feel so fortunate to have my beautiful house intact, my friends and animals well. Really, I am so blessed. A bit of fatigue is surely a small price to pay!

Night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.