Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Tate Modern

A VERY busy day today!

The pleasures of the weekend lie-in were sacrificed and we made an early (for a weekend) start, leaving the house at 8.30 since I had a maths class.

It was great to see my tutor again, and rather nice to be in class having read the material, feeling well and not scared of my own shadow. We spent an entertaining couple of hours discussing set theory, proofs, logic (negations & contrapositives etc), equivalence relations and so on!

Then it was back to the Wonderspouse's office, where he'd been patiently waiting for me, and we drove to London, via a service station where we had lunch. Once in the capital we spent the whole afternoon in Tate Modern, where, in a distinctly arty moment, I took this photo in black and white (very unusual for me, I'm usually more into my colour)! We lamented that one can no longer sit on Ai Weiwei's Sunflower Seeds (whether for health and safety reasons or just because people were pinching too many of them, who knows?) but had a fabulous (if weary-foot-making) afternoon browsing lots and lots of art. Modern art is one of our shared loves.

It was one of those days where I could have taken about a zillion blips - there is stuff everywhere in London that is fascinating to me. We even saw the (not yet completed) Shard, which was very exciting - I'm certain it'll be fabulous when it's finished and a brilliant addition to the London skyline, which is one of my very favourite views in the whole world!

Then it was a walk along the South Bank and across Hungerford Bridge (or whatever the funky modern one is called these days) to fetch supper (from Wasabi), which we carried back across the bridge and ate in the Festival Hall. I entertained the Wonderspouse by taking him in the "singing lift", which I adore (if I get old and infirm and have to have a stairlift, then I'll make sure I get one that sings)!

We finished the entertainments with the next (second and final, for us) concert in the "Pollini Project" series. This time it was Schubert - the last three sonatas, D858, 859 and 860. The slow movement of D859 is possibly one of my favourite pieces of music EVER, and was absolutely magical!

Then it was drive home time, and a very late night!

This is how we "relax" apparently!

Phew!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.