Viewpoint

By Viewpoint

In search of sunsets and water

I think I must have been in denial when I said that I'm not too taken with photographs of sunset because I seem to be a `sunset hunter' at the moment. I'm not sure whether it's because the setting of the sun is coinciding with my drive home from work or if it's because I've been influenced by other blippers.

I've seen some stunning images of the effect of sunset and water and these set me thinking about where I might capture something similar near home. Well the sea is just over 80 miles away so a little far too travel on the way home, but we do have a series of reservoirs that follow the course of the River Don up into the Pennine Hills.

The first, Stocksbridge was a non-starter as it's too low down in the valley and shielded from the setting sun (at least it was by the time I got there tonight), further up is Langsett Reservoir which is much higher and more open. Not such a spectacular sky tonight though, so maybe I'll make a return visit when the right kind of clouds are decorating the sky.

The fourth of our Geography & Global Dimension project afternoons - so several other photos taken on my walk across Sheffield. Another fantastic session with some wonderful teachers. I got my second free book for World Book Day from J at the meeting, `One Day by David Nicholls'. The idea is to pass the book on when I've read it - by registering it on the website the book can then be tracked. I wonder how far it will travel?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.