Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Canal bird

A chilly night last night was followed by a bright, crispy morning (though I'd been up until 3.00 am downloading and listening to music, so all I only know about the bright morning from what I saw through a gap in the curtains before turning over and not actually getting up until noon -- for shame, for shame!). Anyway, the postman had brought a pleasant surprise, the monthly cheque from my ex-employers. The amount was unusual, so I phoned to query it, pointing out that the net amount was greater than the gross. 'No', said the girl, 'that's right. You got a tax refund this month.' Nice one!

So I left the house in good form, on a mission to make lodgements in tow banks, my business one and my personal one. Conditions were still bright, with good patches of blue sky around, so the camera came with me. I went on a little wander to the nearby Grand Canal, but wasn't able to stay long because my pay-and-display time was limited and this part of the city is notorious for over-diligent filthy rotten clampers. I got this shot and a few others in the can before rushing back to rescue the motor, and headed back home.

I intended going on to St Anne's Park for some more blipping, but traffic was badly clogged around the mindbogglingly ridiculously organised roundabout near home and I gave me, did a u-turn and came back home. It's going on for 7.00 pm now, and I'm due to meet my pal Michael at the hospital where his mother is after her recent fall. I'll pay my respects (allowing non-family in to see her is a good sign, at least), and Michael and I will spend some time together. I'm ready to provide a shoulder for him to cry on.

p.s.
How on earth could it possibly be the first day of February, already?! Less than eleven months now till Christmas.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.