Pictorial Allsorts

By calvininjax

A Touch of Vermilion

I am slowly inching my way back from the dark side. I have had quite a productive day -- two blog posts and this photograph -- and even managed to mow the yards.

It was precisely this chore that led to this shot. The only flowers blooming in our back garden are wildflowers -- that is middle-class speak for weeds. I have violets and these vermilion flowers. I tried a search on Google to come up with their name but drew a blank. If any botanists out there recognize this flower, please do let me know.

Needless to say, the flowers were destined to be cut down in their prime by the mower. Well not quite. I mowed around most of the violets and left a couple of these flowers standing. I may be British and heartless but I am not that heartless. :-)

Besides, I couldn't be sure that the photographs I took before mowing the yard were any good. Leaving a couple standing gave me the option of reshooting if it was necessary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.