Back and Forth thru time

By pingufivemins

If You Tolerate This, Your Children Will Be Next

An odd day for me today, its a Monday, i've had a little bit of time off last week, and my work mobile phone has not gone off once, not one single call, nothing, not a thing, and it was turned on as well!!

Had to take the car in for a service this morning, which left me with a little bit of time on my hands, usually i'm either in the office, in the lab, in the clinic, or in the car, but today i was in the open air, walking around Sheffield, ooh i'll suffer this evening!!

I passed by the Peace Gardens on my wanderings through Sheffield, and i came across this plaque dedicated to the men of South Yorkshire who fought in the Spanish Civil War.

The Spanish Civil War has always fascinated me and repelled me in equal measure, as much i think, because sandwiched as it was between the two world wars it represented a small epoch in time when brave politicised individuals, not governments, from around Europe watched with growing fascination and horror at events unfolding and formed up their own International Brigades to try and make a difference, not driven or forced to by their governments or their leaders, but because they believed in something.

it was a horrific,bloody war full of atrocities on both sides and a testing ground for the world war yet to come...

anyway, i'll stop before i upset someone and so, suitably cheered up i'll get my coat!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.