Monday Blues

Even though I admit to being a lady of a certain age and having been put out to grass, so to speak, Monday's are not usually my favourite days.

I have no reason for this unless it is a genetic memory handed down from my maternal forebears for which Monday was an extraordinarily busy wash day with the copper boiler hissing and steaming in the corner of the kitchen into which went the washing to be poked and pounded by the rolling pin. After it was put through the wringer and rinsed it was hung outside to dry before being ironed.

No 'Me" time for these matriarchs of yore on a Monday.

But today I have more positive vibes and freedom and this Monday has acquitted itself well so far-
Early sunshine and an early blip
A twelve mile cycle ride for coffee
No wind
No arguments
Census form away

Bruch's violin concerto no 1

Valued blip criticism
Anticipation of weekly visit to my friend of many talents
Anticipation of weekly overnight sojourn of daughter #2.

Even the fact of not having a tin of mushy peas to have with the fish tonight can't dent my feelings of good will to this Monday.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.