wander, stumble, wonder

By imo_weg

Soaring

The weather is spectacularly fantabulastic today. I'm sitting on the verandah, books spread around me, soaking up the sunshine while reading about oceans law. Days like this are just made for seats like mine. All day I've been working hard to a steady soundtrack of birdies twittering (the old fashioned twittering, not this new fangled tweeting), trucks bustling and beeping down in the valley, the occasional chirrup of a cricket, voices wafting from nearby houses and schools, and a regular cacophony of dogs barking. The birds flap in the trees, and chat to each other, the breeze brings the smell of autumn - a hint of wood smoke, with a fresh edge, reminding me that while the sun may be toasty, the air temp probably isn't. It's finally the season for my wonderful felt hat (a little too warm in the summer) and cups of tea in the afternoon sun. Pippin's acting as a door guard, not letting me in or out, since he's not allowed out (hopefully next week after his next jab), which means I have no choice but to sit here, looking out over the gum trees and blue skies, watching the seagulls swarm to the tip with every new load of garbage and an occasional small plane scooting across the skies.

Study's never bad in a place like this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.