This way and that

Another one of those just-as-well blips today. It was fortunate that I was running a bit early going to today's music session, as that gave me a bit of spare time to point the camera at these lane arrows. It was just the way the light was shining on the road surface and the painted arrows which caught my eye, and then I made a (perhaps far-fetched) connection between the choices offered to motorists and my own situation. Everyone's been telling me how positive I've been about my medical news, and I suppose I could quite easily have gone into myself and become depressed. What I've said to this has consistently been that there's nothing I can do about what's happened, and that the important thing is to get all the facts and then follow medical advice about the best treatment. Anyway, enough about that ...

Today's host has recently been deeply embroiled in studying for a music degree and we've seen very little of him for some time. It was good to be back in his place and to spend some time with him afterwards over a pint or two in The Yacht pub in Clontarf. We'd found a nice quiet corner in the bar side rather than the lounge where the food smells were a bit overpowering.

Carl came over to join us later on as he and I were due at a bit of a house party in the evening. We dropped off the cars at my place and bussed it to the party venue. The occasion was meant to be a bit of a get-together to amuse a German friend of the host's, who was over on a visit for a few days, but it actually turned into a rather extended Wii and iPad session, with several grown-ups behaving in a very childish manner for rather a long time. It was wel into the wee small hours by the time we hailed a taxi and made our way to my place accompanied by the dawn chorus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.