Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

A Good Hug

A good hug. Who doesn't just love a good hug?!!!

I most certainly do.

And I most certainly love good hugs when they come from my children.

-----------

Last night I was watching a little sitcom. 'Raising Hope'. Yes Party of 5,, I watched your show and I loved your show. I laughed out loud, I chuckled, I giggled. Every form of laughter was experienced in that one half of an hour. 'Raising Hope'. Who would've known?! 'Party of 5' has known, but I'm afraid I am late the game now. Here's hoping to some summer reruns.

Anyways, the reason I bring up the show is because of the 'one good hug'. In the episode, the Dad revealed that he used to scare his kid on Halloween every single year just so he could be there for his little boy when fright took over and his son just needed one good hug. His antics were comical to say the least but the moral of the story was that he just wanted to experience the moment of a genuine strong hug every now and then. Even when his son felt like he was getting too old for hugs. Loved the episode. And the 'ma-ma' eating all the chocolates was almost too much to handle. So funny.

So today the kids and I were sitting in the dining room working on projects. I was putting a frame together and they were painting on left over matting. All of a sudden, it sounded like a jet roared over our house. Thunder. Very loud. And very unexpected. Our son is afraid of thunder. Our daughter is not. Literally .2 seconds after the thunder shook, my son was out of his chair and huddled in my lap. His heart beating a hundred miles an hour. His hug tight.

A good hug. Huh?! This is what the guy on the show was wanting. Just a really good hug. Well today, thanks to the thunder, I got a really good hug. I get good hugs from my kids anyways but this one was a 'protect me Mommy' type of hug. I thought about the show at that instant and chuckled to myself. Funny how things can cycle around and relate to one another once in a while. But, as far as conquering fears is concerned, my son did inform me this evening that he is ready for Disneyland. "I like stuffed animals now Mommy and I know that the people in costumes are just real people". Wow, he just made one huge leap and bound.
A good hug. I will always be available for a really good hug!

Oh and ps. With the thunder came a couple of inches of hail. In twenty minutes, we went from having Spring showers to a full blown Winter Spring wonderland. We took some pics. The kids got their snow gloves and hats on. And we enjoyed it. A nice little surprise. Backblips here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.