Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Supporting Japan

I had a very good day in central London. There was a little retail therapy followed by a stroll to Trafalgar Square. There I ate lunch in the middle of the Dutch orange event. The square contained large numbers of orange clad people. Children sported balloon headgear and beautiful face paints. The atmosphere was very happy.

In one corner of the square I found a group of quirkily clad young people. Very photogenic. They were happy to pose for me, so here are two of them. They were there to express support with friends in Japan and were beaming their photos across the globe. I would never have guessed that at first sight.

Thence to National Portrait Gallery to see 2 remarkable photographic exhibitions. The first is the work of Emil Hoppe and the second, work of Ida Kar. I preferred the Kar because her portraits place people in their context. National Portrait Gallery

Back to hotel with weary feet. Was planning an evening's photography, but I've decided not to compete with football fans and all the extra visitors for the Marathon. (It was great to visit the Mall today because the traffic was banned.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.