Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Just Afterwards

Well, today was a day that started off pretty rubbish, but got better and better as it went on.

Admittedly, even at the beginning of the day I didn't feel as bad as yesterday, but I still wasn't in top form. However, I struggled through a few admin type jobs at my desk and set off to have lunch with Scharwenka as scheduled.

Lunch was good. We sat in the garden drinking, er, water!!! and went through possibilities of what could be done now that that teaching job is no longer a viable option. Things finally started to get MORE sorted rather than LESS sorted.

I also managed to get to Sainsbury's and take back one pair of trousers and three tops, completely unworn, still with hangers & labels, that I'd bought for school. Although I was outside the 28 day limit for returns, I explained what had happened to the lady and she allowed me to exchange them for a gift card to the full value of the clothes, which is great because we can buy food with that money now!

Then I collected the Wonderspouse and we drove to London, where we spent a pleasant hour poddling around Kensington and the Sloane Square area en route to Cadogan Hall.

We then went to the Academy of Ancient Music's performance of Bach's St John Passion with the choir of King's College Tabland*. It was UTTERLY SPLENDID. A superb performance, totally entrancing, and what wonderful music.

I have to say that although they are from "the other place"*, the choir were absolutely brilliant, and it was fascinating to hear a piece I know much better sung with women sung with trebles instead - the English choral tradition mingling with the Germanic music made for a fascinating experience. I certainly can't do justice to the evening with any sort of review here, but I can say that I was VERY impressed. :-)

A fabulous evening indeed. I was half-tempted not to go when I woke up in the morning, but I'm so glad we did go. Making the effort was severely hard work, but very well worth it.


*Tabland / the other place / Fens Poly = names that Oxonians have for the University at the top of the M11. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.