The way I see it.

By christinePears

Checking the Puffins

Another fabulous day of sunshine so to make the most of it I walked out to the Puffin colony in the afternoon. Beautiful walk over the moorland and I stopped to investigate about 6 hides beside a small lochan. Sadly there were spent gun cartridges on the ground so I think they must be used for hunting. There were greylag geese, gulls, mallard and another variety of goose that I did not get a chance to identify.

There was more activity on the Puffin rock than when I visited last week and I must have counted about 20-30 different birds. They kept popping out of their burrows checking around for about 1 minute and then going back in again. YOu never knew where they were going to appear next.

The one in the picture seemed to be enjoying the sun and stayed out for longer than the others. I guess the breeding season has not got properly underway yet. I will check back again soon and let you know what's happening.

Even Highland Council employees get May day holiday so no school tomorrow - yipee! Hope you enjoy the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.