A Walk Through Deb's Life

By debsthoughts

Goose on Chimney

I don't know, does this strike anyone else as odd? Webbed footed geese are not made for landing or standing on rooftops, chimneys, or trees, but this one seems to have an affinity for it. This is the third time this goose has landed on top of my house. This is the first time I was able to capture it. Dad called me out from my office loudly, followed quickly with a "Hurry!" [He apparently has no idea how easily I am sent into heart-ripping-from-chest worry.] I ran fast from one end of the house to the other only to find him pointing at a goose on the grass, honking away. What he couldn't hear is the other goose straight over our heads on the roof. Honk, honk. Honk, honk. Back and forth. I believe the one one on the ground was saying, "Get the heck down from there, you fool. Let's go make a nest." While the one on the chimney was honking back with, "I would if I could, don't rush me. I'm thinking."

I showed Dad the one on the chimney and all he thought about that was, "Don't let it poop on me." That goose stayed up there for at least ten minutes and later Dad said, "I've NEVER seen a goose that close to the chickens before." While I was thinking, "I've NEVER seen a goose on a chimney before." Eh, to each his own, I guess, when it comes to oddities.

It's nearing 80-something degrees Fahrenheit today--finally. Bliss. The bugs are out and that doesn't even seem like a bad thing to me right now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.