Plus ça change...

By SooB

The calm of the evening

A very bright and breezy day - perfect for getting the washing dried, not so good for transplanting spindly seedlings. Anyway, according to lunar planting wisdom I shouldn't do any gardening five hours each side of today's apogee of the moon (at 1ish - which really knocks out most of the day). I spent a good part of the day trying to capture the motion of the barley in the wind on camera - didn't really succeed, but I like this mellow end of day feel more anyway.

Katherine had her first proper French homework to struggle through - which I found quite tricky too, but she's done her best and just has some notes to write up (in English - I'm sure the teacher won't expect her to do it in French quite yet) tomorrow morning. Conor has spent the entire day in his pyjamas, save for a brief interlude where he was dressed as a lion.

I've identified a bit of the garden that was obviously used as a small veg patch in the past - so as soon as I'm over my riding-related soreness (still hobbling today, but in a slightly less comically John Wayne style) I'll get stuck into that. Every day I wander behind the shed and look at the former chicken run. I'm beginning to talk myself into getting some hens. Despite the mean pecky ones we had when I was a kid.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.