Plus ça change...

By SooB

Mountain view room

When we signed up for this place our landlord confidently asserted that on a clear day you could see the Pyrenees. I took this as the equivalent of holiday brochure 'sea view' speak (ie, a sea view if you lean out of the window, and have some binoculars. But then this morning suddenly the windscreen as I pulled out of the driveway was full of mountains. Obviously they're not actually this close, but I did like the effect with the mist between our next town, and the mountains 90 minutes drive away.

All this is, of course, cover for a day where nothing of interest occured. Any charm that handwashing held for me (until our washing machine arrives from Scotland next week) vanished this morning when I realised the sheets needed changing. Now, having rented out a house, we have two changes of linen for eleven beds, and we're obviously only using three beds. So I could keep going for quite some time without washing anything. But despite having 21 single duvet covers, we mysteriously only have 5 single sheets (a number of things went missing in the move, some less mysteriously than others since a number of items vanished while being stored for us by a friend, I'm putting it down to miscommunication rather than malice. Ok, I'm not, but I'm really trying to.)

Anyway, I think a trip to the launderette might be needed tomorrow. Aside from the excitement of laundry, there was some hauling furniture around to air it outside in the lovely sunshine, and some comforting of children who didn't have such a fun day at school, and for whom the reality that this is not a fun adventure holiday suddenly seems to have sunk in. Treats will be needed all week I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.