Capital adventures

By marchmont

Scotland's people

no, not the 'people' that Alex Salmond wants to 'choose' (!) but our forebears. After passing the wonderful Margo MacDonald in a taxi outside the City Chambers (this IS the capital after all) I spent the day in Register House, tracing K's family. Joy, the unfettered access to family records (the last time I was here was 1972 and you had to wait ages to see paper records). I just loved it - why haven't I been here before? Anyone want their Scottish family history done? I can do it!" Definitely the way to spend a windy and damp May day. Glad I didn't put the winter clothes away.

Evening was spent with the same K, down from Inverurie on a shopping trip. Good craic and a pleasant evening in the Carlton and the Albanach.

Oh, and the blip is the view up North Bridge from the front of Register House (with Wellington's arse rear view.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.