Capital adventures

By marchmont

Leavin' on a jet plane

well, at least I knew I was coming back again.

Back down to London, so another BA hot breakfast. After yesterday leaving the purse at home, today I left a whole folder of papers for one of this afternoon's meetings. I am seriously thinking of sticking notices on the door, a checklist before I leave - have you got .......

England is yellow from the fields and fields of flowering rape. Brightens up the view.

I realised last night that I am not paying enough tax :O( so I attempted to sort it by phoning HMRC, but not really a good idea whilst on the DLR as the line kept cutting out which meant going back through the multiple choice questions. As I started this standing on the platform under the clock at London City I can tell you it takes 4 whole minutes to get to the main menu. I have a new pet hate - when you phone call centres and get a whole lot of information about what's on their website and how it can help you. Why don't call centre managers realise that people only phone them as a last resort so if you're phoning you've either a) got a query or issue that IS NOT covered on the website or b) not got access to the website at all, either way you don't need to be held on hold while they prattle on (and in HMRC's case it is a lot of prattle) about all the wonderful info you'll get on said website. I'm afraid I swear at that point. However, I think I have sorted the tax problem and look forward to being slightly poorer next month.

The next phone call was back to base but I got so engrossed in that that I managed to get off the DLR at Shadwell, not Thames Gateway. Stupid really as Thames Gateway is the terminus. DLR train #3 was followed by a walk around Bank and Monument tube stations, the escalator being 'hors service'. I was quite grumpy by the time I got to the office, but at least the sun was shining.

Then it was 3 meetings - quality assurance and data management, member involvement and short listing, with a quick sandwich in between.

And then back to Liverpool Street and King's Cross, but I'm chuffed I now know a more direct route from the office to Liverpool Street. The train wasn't busy and no rowdy crowds like last week. I ate my M&S salad and tried to do some cross stitch but it was difficult doing white on grubby white, not helped by having lenses in, and the sun streaming in the carriage. I switched to thinking about the Partnership and then listened to more of 'The Elegance of the Hedgehog'.

It was raining when I got back to Waverley - now there's a surprise.

I'm getting to like East London but I really should try and widen my horizons - next time, but that is not until July, I hope.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.