Capital adventures

By marchmont

White stuff

I feel it is important to record that after a wonderful end of March and a wet April we are now suffering Mayvember. It is freezing outside and yes that white stuff on top of the lawn is hail. Come back sun, all is forgiven.

I woke early, as is my wont and had another go at loading my Oyster card (I won't bore you with the details but it has been a frustrating experience for the last month, despite the nice people at tfl customer services).

Stupidly I had another go, sitting in the living room, before I set off to the station which meant I arrived there sans purse, having left it on the settee. It wouldn't have mattered but the train tickets were in the purse. So, grab a black cab, suffer the horrendous traffic caused by all the tram re-routing around Haymarket and back home and then - back to the station. I wasn't late but it was a bad start to the morning.

The meeting was at the Teacher building in the St Enoch Centre, that is Teacher as in whisky. I spent the day listening to a lot of words and not contributing any. Not like me! Luckily the Blackberry and the Galaxy meant I could surreptitiously keep up with work and personal life. The room was full of pictures of Ardmore Distiller, fitting as I used to be the community worker for Kennethmont, where it is, and I know the area well.

Lunch was good though - they had quite a lot of protein, most of it on sticks, so I was able to avoid the sandwiches. The carb free approach is working, I think.

Then back on a very crowded Scotrail train, even the ticket collector didn't know why it was so busy. Walking up to Queen Street I thought how much nicer Buchanan Street is than Princes Street, other than the view of the Castle that is. Got a legal letter on the train but I can't see any changes. that will have to wait till my printer is back in operation.

I've just been to see my folks before they go off to the South of France on Saturday. They look tired. I fell out on dad when he said they'd take a taxi to Waverley Bridge and get the airport bus. Parents!!

I made a decision this morning, not to go East next month and I feel better for that I'm not in the mood and I can't get the energy to organise it but I will have a week somewhere - maybe an activity week. I need to be with people. being alone at present is not good.

Tomorrow is the last visit to London for a while - must make sure I take EVERYTHING with me then.

Molly is not home yet. They can't keep her in a room long enough to get her in her box - she knows you know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.