The Little Lyle Files

By kevinwatters

Chicken tonight

Not the most photogenic of dishes but one of my favourite - Lemon Chilli Chicken.

This is the highlight of my day having been woken by my very nearly four year old son climbing into our bed and was clearly not feeling well. I had to keep him at home all day as he had an upset tummy and needed a lot of TLC.

Problem was that I had assigned today to ridding the walls in our lounge of every trace of wallpaper before the preparatory work this evening as we are having the walls skimmed on Saturday.

More to the point, I missed the opportunity to replace my hammer that broke yesterday (yes it still hurts - see yesterday's blip for context) but at least the guy who was doing the work for us (plasterwork is way beyond my capability - come and see our bathroom if you need proof) lent me his hammer and it won out against the deadly nail which had the audacity to snap so that in fact the pointed end remains firmly embedded in our lounge wall.

Anyway, back to the chicken. For all that this dish might not look interesting, it makes up for everything in flavour. My wife is a brilliant cook and I love her ability to rummage things up when options seem to be limited. She didn't invent this recipe but has perfected it over the years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.