Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

The Kills

So, here is a first, a blip from a different camera!

I don't take my "posh" camera to gigs in case it gets damaged ("posh" for me that is, not for many of you who have cameras with lenses and all sorts of stuff). However, in a recent bout of sorting, I came across a cheapy chirpy camera I bought a while back (it's probably only one or two stages above disposable cameras, or the sort you get on keyrings or whatever these days) so I took it along to hear The Kills this evening!

And here is the result! Not bad, considering it was dark, and I was bopping, and in a crowd surrounded by people who were also bopping, and my subjects weren't standing still etc etc etc.

We first heard The Kills on the very first occasion we EVER heard live "pop music" (as we used to call it in those days, before we ever heard the term "indie"). If you're interested in the full story, you can read it here! We've been fans ever since, and I think they're pretty much the Wonderspouse's favourite band.

Tonight they were FABULOUS too - and U.R.A. Fever (my FAVE song of theirs) was absolutely awesome. Plus they did loads of stuff off the new album (Blood Pressures), which was also fab! :-)

Support was provided by two bands, S.C.U.M. (who I rather liked) and Brown Brogues (who were quite eccentric)! A great evening all round!

Before the gig we went to Burger King for supper, which was a treat, and the Wonderspouse celebrated this! He's also very appreciative that some of you downloaded the book as a result of me mentioning it in my blip the other day and hopes you enjoy it!

Before that I spent the afternoon with Scharwenka, catching up on stuff and doing the sort of messing around that Scharwenka and I usually do.

Before THAT I snoozed a bit on the sofa and did a bit of admin work in my study, but not too much so as to save energy because I knew I had a busy evening ahead!

And a great evening it was too. The little camera seems to have made a nice record of it, although, since I'm a musician rather than a photographer, I spent most of my time just enjoying the fab performance. When I'm listening to music is one of the very few times in life that I'm able to forget all the rubbish and the junk and the tedium and the bad stuff that there is in the world and just lose myself in the moment.

Whether the music is Bach or The Kills is largely irrelevant, the effect is the same!

Great evening! :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.