Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

BlipTogether International Picnic

Even though we couldn't join the BlipCentral crew today in Princes Street Gardens in Edinburgh at 1:00 p.m. (as posted on the Blip Blog), we did our best here in southern California to join in. We've thoroughly enjoyed the previous "blip" events, especially the BlipTogether in January 2010 which was amazing and the "Life.Turns" event this past summer.

So we certainly wanted to be part of this. Nearly one billion people do not have enough to eat. That's serious and an issue that we all ought to be working toward ending. Oxfam is doing something about this.


****
Casual picnics cause me to remember days when I was a little girl and spending time with Grammie Teele, who always packed a picnic for the journey from her home in Carlsbad (near San Diego) to my house in Norwalk (near Los Angeles). She would bring a tablecloth, a thermos of coffee for her, a small beverage jug for me and my sis, and lunch for all of us. She knew several little wayside places with a picnic table along the old highway so we could stop to rest and refresh ourselves and fill our tummies. She was amazing. At the time I'm sure I thought it was the "norm." Today I realize what precious moments those were. She was a remarkable woman. Born in 1885 in Newton County, Illinois. I'm so glad she lived a long life--91 years--and that I got to know her, she was in her 40s before having my dad. She lived long enough to see my two children.

Maybe we all ought to have a picnic more often.

Good night from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.