Scarface Claw, the toughest tom in town

Scarface Claw is the scary feline character from the Hairy Maclary books by Lynley Dodd. They're a firm favourite with Kiwi kids and adults alike.

Tonight, Pio reminded me of him.

I captured him at lunchtime and took him to work in his carry cage, where he spent a quiet hour in my office, away from prying students' eyes. He seemed fairly relaxed by the time I came to get him to take him to the vet's.

Once there, prised out of his box, he behaved like a textbook example of how a good cat should behave at the vet's. He was poked, prodded and shaved. Fifteen minutes and quite a few dollars later, we were back at home.

He has a wee bald spot on his head, it's red and an angry, but apparently I did a good job of cleaning the wound last night, so the vet's job was easy. No, I didn't get a discount for doing half the work for her.

If you look in large, you can see his sore baldy spot.

He's on anti-biotics for a few days. He's also a bit of a fatty catty, so is on a weight-loss programme. Oh, the indignity of it all.

All quiet in the Barking household. Cousteau is curled up on his bed and Pio is not far away from him. Both seem relaxed and happy enough.

I've done a few of the jobs on my daily 'Things to do today' list. Off to start on a few more now.

I slept okay last night, but just feel so old and exhausted tonight. Bed seems a pretty good place right now. A few hours before I can head there though, and lots to do.

Night all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.