Starry Eyed Surprise

By bellerock

A breakthrough with Pikachu

What a day.

It's been a bit of an emotional roller coaster today as I spent the morning sitting through IEP meetings for children I will no longer work with at school.

Some of the children are moving onto secondary school, so that makes it a bit easier; they are moving up and moving on and that's a good thing. But I still feel very protective about them and I want to know that they will be in safe hands and will get the support they need and deserve next term. The other children, well, I'm sad that I will no longer be part of their school day.

It's so disappointing that I won't get a chance now to see how the children will progress through the rest of their years in primary school.

I doesn't help that one little boy told me I was one of his two favourite teachers at the school, bless!

Another little boy whom I have been working hard with to find a way to help him engage with learning, I've finally had a breakthrough with, by discovering his love of Pokemon.

Today I took in magazines, annuals and collector cards in for him. I really thought I wasn't going to be able to see him today as I had these meetings but then his Class Teacher came to find me saying that he was refusing do any work until he sees me.

His face, when I showed him the Pokemon things was priceless. Now he has something to work for and will get Pokemon cards for his efforts and the magazines for his choosing time.

I would have loved to be around long enough to see the Pokemon incentive through.


Mr G keeps says to me that I get too emotionally involved with my work, and that's definitely true.

But as I keep saying to him, I'm not doing it for the money.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.