Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Still life

I've started working on my still life project today. I spent an hour in Haydon Old Church, near Haydon Bridge, and could have stayed at least 3 times as long. I will have to go back when I have more time.

This gravestone is lying flat making a window ledge. I was intrigued by the way the old stonemason had allowed words to spill over from line to line, but had also used abbreviations. What do you think that Pmgy stands for? Is the surname Wall or something longer? (The superscript e suggests something more).

Very sad to see the young ages on the stone.

I love all the colours and tones that have come out in the stone when I processed the image, using levels and layers.

You may see more in the coming days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.