Barking

By Barking

Pontoon

We got up at about 8 this morning and headed back down to Lake Mahinapua. It was like a mirror first thing as we ate breakfast.

We took the kayaks out for another 2 hour paddle. It was so quiet and quite spacey really as it looked as if we were paddling in the sky, parting the clouds with every stroke. I got quite poetic and started writing a poem (in French for some reason). I'll keep working on it, it's not done yet. It was strange, looking up and seeing clouds and looking ahead and down and seeing clouds.

I think I've fallen in love with Lake Mahinapua. I want to take my parents there when they come over in the New Year. It was a public holiday yesterday (and school holiday today) and we had the lake pretty much to ourselves. We even saw a beautiful white heron. Sorry, I'm waxing lyrical but I was so moved by the whole thing and felt so privileged to be a part of it with Canterbury. Very special. It sometimes takes moments like that to remind me what it's all about.

Sunday's shot and Yesterday's blip, if you're interested.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.