Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Saint Simeon

This stained glass window is in Haydon Old Church (Haydon Bridge), otherwise known as St Cuthbert's Chapel. It was in use until a new church was built in the village, half a mile or so away. This chapel started life in the 12th century, but the font is even older; it was made from a Roman altar which was recut for the purpose.

I was there this morning looking for more images for my still life project and I took this image as the light started to filter through the glass. I like the oak leaves and acorns in the window.

After that I went with L and S to join the rest of the walkers in Blanchland. M and J led an excellent walk on the moors above the village. We had a swift drink in the Lord Crewe Arms before heading home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.