While on my runs

By waipushrink

Matariki

Matariki is a name referring to the Pleiades; the meaning is both Tiny Eyes and Eyes of Gods. The name is also given to the traditional Maori New Year, which was marked by the rise of Matariki (the Pleiades) and the sighting of the next New Moon. As the Pleiades rise in late May, Matariki occurs in June with the next New Moon.

Matariki was used to predict the next year's crop, and when to plant, as well as being a time for whanau (family) to gather and reflect on past and future. In recent years, Matariki is a time to celebrate where we live and give respect to the land. Celebrations lasted for three days, although more recently longer festivals take place.

On my run this morning through the Auckland Domain I went past the Auckland War Memorial Museum, and in front of the Museum, adjacent to the Cenotaph were many people. Whether they were there for Matariki or for the winter solstice, I do not know. The New Moon is still to come; the Full Moon has just gone.

Dawn was 15 minutes off as I went past, and some people were leaving. I would like to have known what it was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.